Om tattoo, lotus tattoo. WHY?

“For over 5,000 years …. Tattoos have served as rites of passage marks of status and rank, symbols of religious and spiritual devotion, decorations for bravery, sexual lures and marks of  fertility, pledges of love, punishment, amulets and talismans, protection, and as the marks of outcasts, slaves and convicts.”

Om or Aum the symbol of the eternal of “God” the concept that all things in this universe are one, the eternal one.  Also it is part of the Ajna chakra the opening of the mind.

Lotus – purity of the body, mouth and thought (evil karma arises from the body, mouth and thought on account of beginning-less greed, anger and folly) and where the Buddha walks a lotus flower blooms.  The Buddha has left his footprint on me.

The Vishudda chakra is a lotus symbol that resides in the neck area.  It is represented by a many petaled lotus flower.  It represents taking a negative experience and using it to open up to wisdom and learning.  It is also associated with creativity and self expression.  The next higher up chakra Ajna is on the forehead and it carries the Om symbol in it.  Ajna stands for the opening of the mind.

I have wanted a tattoo for many many years.  I had always thought I would get a little daisy on my hip or a bird on my ankle.  Instead I chose a lotus flower with an om symbol and I had it placed at the base of my neck,  this is the location of the Vishudda chakra.  It is a mark for me of a rite of passage.  From married maiden to spiritual woman.  The absolutely rending negativity of my surprise divorce opened my mind to a spiritual depth that I had been working on before marriage but came deeply into me once my marriage ended.

This is also a symbol of spiritual devotion.  The Om symbol represents hope.  Hope for the opening of my mind to new possibilities and trust in my higher power.  It is a sacred symbol uttered at the beginning and at the end of a thing.  The Om spoken at the end of my married life.  The Om spoken at the beginning of this new life.

This tattoo is a symbol of the hardship I have endured (albeit emotional in nature) and a symbol of the strength I have inside of me that I always carried but I now know I can depend on. It is like a sacred fire inside of me.

Om.

4 comments on “Om tattoo, lotus tattoo. WHY?

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review « Living a Whole Life

    • I have two tattoos now. the one on my back the lotus. and a smoke dragon (my spirit) wrapped around a key (the key to my heart, my daughter) next will be a tree of life. saving my pennies!! and as an artist I cannot agree more with your daughter, it is wearable art. Yes exactly that! Thank you for visiting my blog Ms. Marylin!

Leave a Reply

