Super Organic Potluck

I had a marvelous dinner last night.  There is this couple from yoga who have a big potluck dinner for the yoga crew every couple of years.  Two years I was in no condition to eat dinner with anyone so I missed the last one.  They have a lovely house that my daughter and I used to trick or treat at when she was little.  This couple has been married for 35 years and they were high school sweethearts.  I was talking to the husband about how wonderful it is that he goes to yoga with her, he told me that he works alot and he tries to do things with her when he can because he wants to spend time with her.  I said that not alot of men would go to yoga just because their wife does, and he said he enjoys yoga but he likes it better because it is something the two of them can do together.  I actually talked with him quite alot and it was interesting,  I have been doing yoga with them for 3 years and it was nice to get to know them a little better.

We all brought vegetarian and vegan dishes.  Love the vegan thing with my sudden awareness of my allergy to the protein in milk.  (oh how lovely it is not to have gas and tummy ache and bowel troubles anymore – a life time of “sensitive stomach” goes bye bye. )  Now that I have stopped eating dairy altogether my self destructive reentry into the world of the cow via cheese my dairy allergy is even more obvious,  ie every time I eat cheese the tummy aches and gas come back big.  We had some really delicious spicy kale salad, cabbage and radish salad, dolmades, homemade whole wheat bread, a mixed zucchini and tomato salad, and oddly it was in the dessert that we got our protein, the husband (of this couple) made a delicious oatmeal and nut and raisin cookie and my oat and whole wheat apple crisp with sunflower seeds, plus someone made pineapple cake and another person made chocolate chip brownies.

Apple Crisp

8 tart apples peeled cut up into thin wedges. Grease a 9″ x 12″ baking pan place apples in pan and sprinkle liberally with cinnamon sugar (like the kind you put on toast)

In a separate bowl:

A 1/2 cup stick of butter
1 heaping cup of packed brown sugar
1/2 cup of oat bran or wheat germ
1/2 cup of whole wheat flour
1 cup of whole rolled oats
1 tsp of cinnamon
1/4 tsp of nutmeg
1/4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice
Cut in with pastry knife until butter is well mixed in with a crumbly texture.

Stir in a 1/2 cup of sunflower seeds.
place mixture over apples.

Bake at 350 degrees for a half hour.

When I got home I blogged and then my lovely daughter brought me a cup of cocoa and we sat out on the back porch and chatted under a down comforter.  She told the dog to wish me a happy birthday and he wagged his tail and smiled up at me came around to where I was on the bench, put his paws on my lap and licked my cheek.  It was a beautiful evening.  This morning a big group of my friends are meeting me for a birthday breakfast.  It is good to be loved.

Leave a Reply

