I dream of an Alaskan winter

I dream I am in Alaska.  I am working side by side with a Native woman.  She and I are preparing for winter, caching food deep in the earth for the cold winter. She tells me it will keep here in a deep pit because it will freeze even though the air is still of relative warmth.  She teaches me how to store the food, how to mark it so that I will find it even when the snow has covered the area.  We move to a cave and we are preparing the area in the cave and near the cave.  She tells me not to store all of my provisions in one place, just in case I cannot make it back to the cave, just in case an animal gets into the food stores.  She has a man.  He comes to join us but she does not want him anymore.  She looks to me for warmth and comfort because he has done nothing for her to prepare, and I have been her helpmate.  We sleep in our animal skins faces close together as our bodies gather heat from a fire.  The man is gruff and crabby, he wants to be doted on.  She says there is too much work to be done.  I stay out of it but value her company.  She and I continue to work side by side.    I wake not sure if I am still asleep or not, I continue to talk to her and she to me as I rest in this place between being awake and asleep.  Soon I realize that I am in my bed at home.  And I am alone but for the dog who sleeps snug against me, and the cat who is purring just at the edge of my hand.  What does this dream mean?

One comment on “I dream of an Alaskan winter

Leave a Reply

