Snowshoeing

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The trail was well traveled by the time I got there on Saturday.  But I didn’t mind.  I was hot in my wool under layer and wool sweater and down coat.  Took off my hat and held onto my gloves.  The dog was in heaven.  Rolling in the snow.  Here in Syracuse there is a regular dusting of rock salt (a special variety with some chemical added to it) on the roads which burns his paws.  It makes it difficult to walk him in the winter.  I worried that the ice balls would build up in his paws but the worry was needless because he was happy as a clam in the mud.  I was kind of glad the trail had already been broken in, because it was definitely a different set of muscles than I am used to using.  But it felt good to sweat and the warm (well warmth is relative) and fresh air made it all worth it.  I couldn’t help but feel so thankful for my year plus of regular walks at this little park.  It really has been good for me in many ways.

Today I went to yoga but neglected to check my email which informed me that it had been canceled.  Another woman was there also ready to do yoga so we did it together.  It was really gentle and peaceful.  I called it ad hoc yoga, we just talked about what we wanted to do and sometimes she initiated a pose and sometimes I did.  At the end we talked briefly about some personal stuff and I felt really connected and not alone, and I also saw that there are blessings in my life that some others may not have, blessings that I take for granted.  That was the best part of all.

3 comments on “Snowshoeing

  1. I do shovel a path in the backyard, but he loves to leap across the yard and bury his nose in the snow too. Don’t our little friends make life so much better? 🙂

Leave a Reply

