Queue the Music

I play two instruments, the recorder and the violin.  Once I was quite good on the violin but not really anymore.  I played the recorder every single day of my life for a couple years, and although initially it was torture to my housemates, I became pretty good at it.  I played off and on for a while and then one day I bought myself a violin, took lessons, but fell on some difficulties financially (brought to me by the ex.  thank you thank you.) and had to sell the violin.  It was okay by that time because I had stopped playing music.

I have started playing again.  As I ran through my Bach recorder songs and sawed away on the violin squeaking and accidentally hitting strings, I felt the days stress fall away.  I know I play badly but it relaxes me, I love to play, and I am not too bad on the recorder really still.  Not great, maybe not even good, but definitely not bad.

I felt a deep sadness.  Yet another thing stolen by the kiss of my nemesis.

But so much joy now.  I reflect on this.

Queue the Music.

4 comments on “Queue the Music

  1. You don’t have to be good at something to find joy in it!
    We’ve got two pianos in our basement. A baby grand that belonged to my great-grandmother and that we’re keeping safe until our daughter puts roots down somewhere. And a little upright, which my parents bought for me to take lessons on when I was a child. But I never took to playing very much.
    I’m one of those people who loves music but would rather listen to it and dance to it than play it!

    • I agree, I stopped playing because of that criticism thing, you are drawing out that note to long, your rhythm is off, you aren’t playing it dynamically enough….I think I said, oh I guess I am not good enough to play. But the other day I thought, I am not good enough to play for money, nor for accolades, but I like it. I like singing, but I don’t dream of American Idol, what I dream of is a smile on my face, and joy in my heart, and that the pearl of my soul shines with just a bit more iridescence, this is for my benefit. All naysayers can go listen to their favorite 80’s music. Thank you for subscribing to my blog. 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

