Life is Good.

bright orange flowers in a cluster

Butterfly Weed,

The southern lake trail at Clark is still closed due to flooding.  So I took the northern trail.  It is a beautiful day.  The dog is happy to be here for the first time in several weeks.  I am happy to be here for the first time in several weeks too.  I find this butterfly weed on the far back trail, and send it to the pirate.  The power lines are buzzing loudly over me, I always look at the clouds to make sure I will be safe under them when I walk here.  The grass is still short from last year’s toxic defoliation.  At the top of Pulpit Rock I give thanks as I always do.  I am thankful for the small things.   I cannot utter these things aloud.  I can only hold them in my heart and take them out and treasure them.  When you go without for so long a small favor, a small gesture has such a depth of meaning.  I breathe in the air of my park.  I am sweating far more than on the road walks.  I feel shaky in my quads.  At the end I am thirsty and I share half of my water with the dog.  Life is good, I tell him.  He looks up at me.  Really good.  I say.  He takes another drink of water, and hops in the car.

 

Leave a Reply

