Somniloquy or Talking in my Sleep

I am writing this post today because I want to connect to people who suffer from this sleep disorder.  And I want real solutions, real answers.  I have suffered from talking in my sleep for my entire life.  I did it before I ever drank alcohol, smoked marijuana or drank caffeine.  I do not have a psychiatric disorder.  I talk whether I am under stress or not.  I do it no matter what is going on in my life.  Other people in my family talk in their sleep too.  My grandfather was a notorious sleep talker.  I have heard my mom, my daughter and my niece all speak in their sleep.  I am not sure about my uncles or cousins.  I wish I knew about their experiences.

I want to stop talking in my sleep.  It affects my whole life.  Every thing I read about it online says it is situational, is due to a fever or medications or a psychiatric problem.  I think this is not true and it is time to set the record straight and get answers for others who suffer from this disorder.  Many of the pages suggest going to bed at the same time and getting up at the same time.  Odd because my grandfather was an early to bed early to rise kind of guy and he went to bed and got up around the same time every day I ever was at his house, which was a few weeks a year.  He was the most active sleep talker I have ever encountered so I believe this is bullcrap.  It isn’t helpful to keep repeating this kind of information because it isn’t true and it doesn’t work.

It says you talk more in your sleep if you don’t get enough rest.  Newsflash the constant sleep talking makes it so you cannot get a good night’s sleep.  So this is also bullcrap.  How the hell do you get well rested if you cannot sleep well to begin with.  When I do not sleep well I am tired, I feel lazy and ineffectual and lack productivity and it without question effects my abilities in the waking world.

I believe it also effects my relationships.  It is embarrassing to talk in my sleep when I am sleeping over at someone else’s house.  And I am afraid it will also effect my relationship with my current boyfriend.  He teases me about it, and the truth is he snores which wakes me, but snoring is not nearly as mortifying as talking in your sleep, particularly with the stigma of it being because you are mentally ill or addicted to drugs and alcohol.  Or that you binge eat before sleeping.  I often skip dinner so eating a heavy meal before going to sleep has nothing whatsoever to do with it either.

I did a sleep disorder clinic three years ago.  He told me that my brain waves spike at intervals instead of wave and suggested I take an iron supplement.  Which was not helpful in anyway.  Shortly after this happened my former husband left me and I never went back.  I am planning to go back if my doctor will write me a referral when I have my physical in December.  But taking iron did nothing for me at all except make me constipated.

So please if anyone has found a real solution to how to manage talking in your sleep please share.  If you also suffer from it please share.  But if you think a solution is taping my mouth shut please go away.  You are not helping anyone by being an ass.  I want to hear from people.  How do you manage this.  I am ready for this to be out of my life.  It is exhausting.  Literally.  And I am ready to spend the rest of my life sleeping well and having my partner and family sleeping well too.

I realize this is not my usual type of writing and is very ranty but I have reached the end of my proverbial rope with this.  I want to stop and there is no helpful information about this on the internet.

7 comments on “Somniloquy or Talking in my Sleep

  1. I think it must be a family trait……….email Karen, Maggie, Marcie…..ask about them and their kids………Olivia will actually reply to something u say to her in her sleep. She talks a lot. I still do and it does not affect my sleep , nor has it ever.

  2. My boyfriend moved in with me the day after Easter, April 9, 2012. Of course we had spent the night together before, but he had never ever complained about me talking in my sleep before a few weeks ago (it is now June 19, 2012). I know that it is because I quit smoking marijuana, because as soon as I quit, I started talking in my sleep. Also, you should know that every time I talk in my sleep, I wake myself up, and I also remember the dream I was having as if it was real. Everything was fine until I quit smoking marijuana in late May. Suddenly I started talking in my sleep a lot in the early mornings. He seems really irritated about it, and I feel awful. He asked me why I didn’t tell him that I had this problem before I moved in, and I told him that it’s because I did not know that I had this problem, and that I think it was because I was smoking the weed, which helped me to sleep “quietly.” I know that I used to talk in my sleep when I was a child, because people would tell me.
    I think that when I was smoking the weed, I was sleeping soundly because it was blocking whatever stress or vivid dreams I was having. I don’t want to go back to smoking it, because it’s too expensive, it’s bad for me (lungs, etc.), and I told myself that when I turned thirty years old I would “grow up” and give it up. I grew up in a very abusive home and started turning to weed and alcohol around 12-13 years old, and pretty much have been a heavy smoker since. There were times I quit here and there for six months, but would start up again. I have realized that smoking it has not done anything good for me in my life, and I really don’t want to go back to it, but I don’t think it’s a coincidence that as soon as I quit I started talking in my sleep! I really would like to know if this will get better, or stay the same, or what. I have read all of those things you mentioned, like don’t eat or drink alcohol before bed, so I will try harder to refrain from those things. I also read that yoga and meditation will help. I am going to try doing them. Please let me know your comments. Thank you.

    • Allison, I stopped smoking grass when I was in my early 20’s. It made me sit dull and silent at parties, or else talk aloud to myself. I reached a point where I wanted to communicate with people when I was in big groups, which just wasn’t happening. I have not tried it in many years!!

  3. Also, I wanted to let you know that I read some other comments from people who have quit smoking marijuana, and have withdrawals that include having very Vivid dreams… they are saying that they didn’t remember their dreams or have any vivid dreams when they were smoking marijuana, but once they quit they suddenly would have vivid dreams. I don’t know if they talk in their sleep or not, but it seems to be pretty common for people to start having these strange vivid dreams when they quit. Since I only talk in my sleep “during a dream,” then it makes sense that it is because I stopped smoking… Hence the many other people claiming this…

    I just wish I knew if I will stop talking in my sleep once the marijuana is completely out of my system. Does this make sense? Thanks for you time, and please let me know your thoughts.

    • It just occurred to me Allison did you start taking contraceptives around the time your boyfriend moved in? I found that when I was taking them I talked more and slept alot worse. Now that I am free of the hormones in my system my whole ability to sleep is drastically improved. Four years ago when my husband abandoned our family for another woman, I immediately stopped taking them and I started sleeping so much better. Then last year when my guy friend became my boyfriend I started taking contraceptives again and after about 6 months my blood pressure was too high and my doctor took me off them, but about 3 months later I realized I was sleeping better and talking less…at least I think I am, hard to tell because I sleep alone most of the week.

  4. Nope, no contraceptives! I have not taken the pill since about six years ago. I also did not talk in my sleep last night. Which is a good thing! Maybe writing and connecting to you helped!? 🙂 Anyway, I am pretty stressed out right now and that could also have something to do with it. Let’s see how it goes tonight! Thanks for writing me back!

  5. Btw, the reason I quit the pill, is because you are absolutely not supposed to smoke anything while taking it, and I was smoking at the time (cigarettes and pot) however I did quit cigarettes five years ago, thank God! They smell so awful! Anyway, as I was saying, while I was on the pill, and smoking both things, after a few years I began to have chest pain, and I got scared, so I stopped taking the pill. I don’t think it’s really healthy for your body. I’m glad you stopped taking it! Anyway, have a great night!

Leave a Reply

