No Black Friday. NO!

It is so beautiful out.  I am so glad I went to bed at a normal hour last night.  The thought of shopping at midnight does not appeal to me. The sun is shining brilliantly and I am sweating in my light weight sweatshirt, jersey pants and wool socks.  The dog need the outside time, the girl does too.

I cannot imagine wanting to be indoors on a day like today, shopping with people who will punch  you over the last piece of crap.  I do not shop on Black Friday.  Or ThanksBuying.  I never have.  I suspect I never will.

Not so Dry Lake

The light was shining so brightly on the water as it sparkled below.  Dry lake is not dry at all and the little run off is a full fledged creek.  I take a path I do not normally take but I am tired today.  After all the work yesterday my body is saying, hey lets sit down for a few minutes, but I push on.  I still have a dishwasher full of dirty dishes, and a sink full, but I had to leave it so I could get out while the weather held.  I find that as I write this, I can feel my knitting calling to me.  I think I might have to put off doing the dishes just a little longer.

Milkweed pod

The house is quiet and I look at my clean and ordered outdoors, watch the grass shining in the sun, appreciate the crystal made rainbows that dot my walls and ceiling.  I feel the sweat cooling and drying on my skin.  I feel the rough calloused fingers on my hands as I type.  I smell turkey, pie and bacon.  All this is good.  I feel at peace.

Just say NO to Black Friday.  Just say NO to ThanksBuying.  Buy local, buy handmade.

2 comments on “No Black Friday. NO!

  1. Couldn’t agree more. The video of these, well, freaks hurting their fellow man to buy material goods sends a truly disheartening message about our society. I’m all for Small Business Saturday and helping out the little guy, but ThanksBuying as you so eloquently put it – forget it.

    • There is a big local artisan fair here in my city every December. Although it is juried, it is a nominal fee to sell your wares. (excellent for the beginning artisan). It also will accept African Americans and Native American and transgendered artisans in higher than usual numbers for these things. I wish I could buy everything for everyone there! I saw the Black Friday chaos, did you know that I heard I think 75% of those people are buying electronics for themselves!! It isn’t even about gift giving.

Leave a Reply

