Above Freezing

I have decided that I will no longer shovel, or snowblow my driveway.

Meanwhile it has been below freezing, well below, since some time in January.  Until.  TODAY.

It is 34 degrees Fahrenheit.

As I drove along the slushy grey and black highway in the drizzle and muddy spray I noticed that the willows are golding up.  How they know when it is so cold, I do not know.

The birds have finally taken note of my birdfeeder.  I filled it last week, and have to fill it again.  Only the second time all year.

And spring cleaning has begun.  Perhaps I will be moving again in a few months.  If so, I want to move as little as possible.  With that in mind I threw out a ton of stuff from my studio last night.  I also made up a huge bag of goodies for work.

I decided I need to finish emptying my jewel cases into my CD folder and throw those out.  And go through my books again and donate them.  They mostly just collect dust anyway, since I only have read a few books more than once.  Jane Eyre, Pride and Prejudice, A Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, Lao Tzu, a couple sci fi books, Andre Norton, the one with Furtig in it.  (Cat something)….

With electronic books you just don’t have to take up all the space for a good read.  In the zombie apocalypse all will suffer for this.

I had a thought this morning.  That we should live like it is the zombie apocalypse, not wasting food or water, or gas; not wasting time on stuff that doesn’t matter like television and computer games.  Anyway.  As I sit here blogging, on a computer.  Wishing it were four o’clock.

Leave a Reply

