Making a House a Home

image

image

image

There is no need to post a before picture, it was piled with old leaves and nothing more.

In this corner, under the windows that will be my studio.  The door for now not usuable but a plan in the works.  Two hibiscus already in place, and I have added bee balm, mullein, lavendar, three thyme varieties, oregano, echinacea, sage, chamomile, salvia, dragons blood sedum, liatrus, forget me nots, evening primrose and this other plant name I forget but has hot pink flowers and a silver leaf.  But it is a perennial.

In the back I have transplanted three healthy rhubarb roots, that have babies, so they are in a good spot, and covered them with three year old horse poop, from Andreas.  I did a walk around today and the borage I got from her is happy in it’s new spot, also I have tansy and comfrey, so with the exception of garlic, ginger and elderberry, I am satisfied with my herbs.  Next year I will focus on a garden.

After driving back from Andreas yesterday I trimmed back the grove of pines at the back of the property where I found milkweed and more mullein.  And poison ivy.  And the back end of the property has a huge old sycamore.  It looks like black caps also grow along one edge and there is sumac, edible in the apocalypse, and more milkweed growing there.

Tom is a willing partner in all my endeavors.  Even though he was set to relax and chill at the house,  He came out to help me, dug all the holes for the garden in the front, and spread all the mulch for me, laughing and teasing and joking with me through the whole thing.  And yesterday, piling up the branches I had trimmed and using a small chainsaw to cut down the almost no longer a sapling maples, and a snow cracked pine that was not salvageable.

We have much to do still.  One task is the free woodstove offered by Jim and Andrea, that will save us about 1000 dollars.  And this week the painting will begin in the big room.  More to follow.

One comment on “Making a House a Home

Leave a Reply

