Closed Door

a slip of petal pink over the frost blue flat of the lake

windows thinly glazed with ice

i sing aloud to my favorite songs

as i fly through the ice blue clouds

Snow on black trees

winding my way on a black road

my heart opens up

like a cage bird freed

i add a log to the fire

and lift my coffee mug off the top

i stand in the window

watching the sleek and shiny black

as she sniffs across the pure white snow

I still sometimes dream of you

but if i had to,

i would run

i lost nothing

and gained everything

i close the drafty door

and warm my hands

as i rest here

by the window.

 

Leave a Reply

